FTC KKSt

FIRST Tech Challenge
at the
Königin Katharina Stift


FIRST

For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology

The non-profit organisation FIRST was founded by Dean Kamen and Woddie Flowers in Manchester, New Hampshire in 1989. Its aim is to stimulate interest and participation of young people in science and technology. In addition, it is intended to convey teamwork and respect as basic values and to promote the life skills of the 21st century.

"To transform our culture by creating a world, where science and technology are celebrated and where young people dream of becoming science and technology leaders"
Dean Kamen

firstinspires.org

Two aspects are particularly important to FIRST in its ethos: "Gracious Professionalism" and "Coopertition":

Gracious Professionalism is intended to promote quality work, emphasize the value of others and respect the individual and the community. Competitors learn and compete like crazy, but treat each other with respect and kindness in the process. They avoid treating someone like a loser. Knowledge, competition, and empathy are comfortably blended. In the long run, Gracious Professionalism aims to teach children and young people to live a respectful life.

Coopertition is an artificial word made up of "Cooperation" and "Competition" and marks the importance of seeing robotic competitions not as a competition but as a learning opportunity. By cooperation within a team but also between different teams it is possible that everyone can give his/her best. So on the day of the competition it is a matter of course to lend tools to other teams or to help them with computer problems. Even during the preparation time FIRST attaches great importance to contact between teams to exchange ideas. Coopertition is founded on the concept and a philosophy that teams can and should help and cooperate with each other even as they compete.

FIRST Core Values:

Discovery: We explore new skills and ideas.
Innovation: We use creativity and persistence to solve problems.
Impact: We apply what we learn to improve our world.
Inclusion: We respect each other and embrace our differences.
Teamwork: We are stronger when we work together.
Fun: We enjoy and celebrate what we do!



FIRST Like A Girl:

#FIRSTLikeAGirl is a campaign by FIRST to get more girls interested in science and technology and later find STEM jobs (science, technology, engineering and maths). To this end, it shares experiences and stories of successful women and girls through videos and presentations. Through these role models, with whom it is easy to identify, FIRST empowers girls with the confidence to overcome cultural pressures, follow their dreams in STEM, and become active members of the FIRST community. This inspires girls to become the next generation of science and technology leaders. The campaign was launched in 2016 to close the gender gap in STEM areas and create a more inclusive culture, as there is still a lack of female participation and commitment.


firstlikeagirl.com

Datenschutz|Impressum

FTC KKSt

FIRST Tech Challenge
am
Königin Katharina Stift


FIRST

For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology

(FĂŒr Inspiration und Anerkennung von Wissenschaft und Technologie)

Die Non-Profit-Organisation FIRST wurde 1989 von Dean Kamen und Woddie Flowers in Manchester, New Hampshire gegrĂŒndet. Das Ziel ist es, das Interesse und die Beteiligung junger Menschen an Wissenschaft und Technologie zu wecken. Zudem soll es Teamwork und Respekt als Grundwerte vermitteln sowie die Lebenskompetenzen des 21. Jahrhunderts fördern.

"Unsere Kultur zu verĂ€ndern, indem wir eine Welt schaffen, in der Wissenschaft und Technologie gefeiert werden und in der junge Menschen davon trĂ€umen, in Wissenschaft und Technologie fĂŒhrend zu werden"
Dean Kamen

firstinspires.org

Zwei Aspekte sind FIRST in ihrem Ethos besonders wichtig: "Gracious Professionalism" und "Coopertition":

Gracious Professionalism bedeutet soviel wie Freundliche ProfessionalitĂ€t und soll qualitativ hochwertige Arbeit fördern, den Wert der anderen betonen und den Einzelnen und die Gemeinschaft respektieren. Die Wettbewerbsteilnehmer*innen lernen und wetteifern wie verrĂŒckt, aber behandeln sich dabei gegenseitig mit Respekt und Freundlichkeit. Sie vermeiden es, jemanden wie einen Verlierer zu behandeln. Wissen, Wettbewerb und EinfĂŒhlungsvermögen werden angenehm miteinander vermischt. Auf lange Sicht soll Gracious Professionalism Kindern und Jugendlichen beibringen, ein respektvolles Leben zu fĂŒhren.

Coopertition ist ein Kunstwort aus "Cooperation" (Kooperation) und "Competition" (Wettbewerb) und markiert die Wichtigkeit, die Roboterwettbewerbe nicht als Konkurrenzkampf sondern als Lernmöglichkeit zu sehen. Durch Kooperation innerhalb eines Teams aber auch verschiedener Teams untereinander ist es möglich, dass jeder sein Bestes geben kann. So ist es am Wettbewerbstag vollkommen selbstverstÀndlich anderen Teams zum Beispiel Werkzeug auszuleihen oder bei Computerproblemen zu helfen. Auch schon in der Vorbereitungszeit legt FIRST Wert auf Kontakt zwischen Teams zum Ideenaustausch. Coopertition basiert auf dem Konzept und der Philosophie, dass Teams sich gegenseitig helfen und zusammenarbeiten können und sollen, auch wenn sie miteinander konkurrieren.

FIRST Grundwerte:

Entdeckung: Wir entdecken neue Talente und Ideen.
Innovation: Wir arbeiten kreativ und ausdauernd, um Probleme zu lösen.
Wirkung: Wir wenden das Gelernte an, um unsere Welt zu verbessern.
Inklusion: Wir respektieren einander und akzeptieren unsere Unterschiede.
Teamwork: Wir sind stÀrker, wenn wir zusammen arbeiten.
Spaß: Wir haben Spaß und feiern unsere Arbeit!



FIRST Like A Girl:

#FIRSTLikeAGirl ist eine Kampagne von FIRST um mehr MĂ€dchen fĂŒr Wissenschaft und Technik zu begeistern und spĂ€ter ArbeitsplĂ€tze im MINT-Bereich (Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaften und Technik) zu finden. Dazu gibt sie Erfahrungen und Geschichten erfolgreicher Frauen und MĂ€dchen durch Videos und PrĂ€sentationen weiter. Durch diese Vorbilder, mit denen man sich leicht identifizieren kann, gibt FIRST MĂ€dchen das Selbstvertrauen, kulturellen Druck zu ĂŒberwinden, ihren TrĂ€umen in MINT zu folgen und aktive Mitglieder der FIRST-Gemeinschaft zu werden. So werden MĂ€dchen dazu inspiriert, die nĂ€chste Generation von fĂŒhrenden Wissenschaftlerinnen und Technologinnen zu werden. Die Kampagne wurde 2016 ins Leben gerufen, um die Geschlechterkluft in MINT-Bereichen zu schließen und eine integrativere Kultur zu schaffen, da noch immer ein Mangel an Beteiligung und Engagement von Frauen besteht.


firstlikeagirl.com

Datenschutz|Impressum